top of page
Search

I FEEL the Excitement (not hear it)



Hi! I'm Brittany Wagley, the enthusiastic assistant to Director and Screenwriterr Candice Cain, Gemelli Films on the local project "Baking Up Love" that's to be shot here in Morton, IL, from inside the big pumpkin city itself. Let's talk about what this project entails and how cool it is for "Hollywood" to come to a small local town to really capture the essence.


First off , it is just wild to be a part of a powerful women crew. Working on previous local projects, I was likely the only female or one of a short few that was on crew. The atmosphere definitely changes when you work with people who listen to what you have to bring to the table. I am a makeup artist/hairstylist, behind the scene photographer/owner of BW. Snaps photography page and really a jack of different trades.


I first emailed Candice when learning about the project IMMEDIATELY because I was really excited it was a movie from directors out of state, as well as powerful women on the forefront, and something so close to home seeing as I live just the next town over, grew up in the area and attended the Morton Pumpkin Festival every year pre-COVID. With nostalgic lingering feelings every time I come here and remembering the good things this town has to offer (as well as a shout out to those who remember the tunnel we all honked our horns and screamed with glee through coming to Morton), I KNEW I needed to be a part of this, one way or another.


Now, you guys, I'll admit very honestly, I was definitely nervous sending that email. But, I put all anxiety feelings in the trash and clicked "send" because sometimes, I don't get jobs when I include a very important aspect of me. I also wasn't hired on a "real" job until I was 19.


PLOT TWIST: I'm deaf or hard-of-hearing with an aid. I was born deaf and got my first aid in about 5th grade. Before that I wore headphones and spoke into a microphone. I've definitely gotten blatantly rejected from people, projects, and jobs because of my disability. In fact upon my first meeting with the crew, I walked in, introduced myself and started with the line, "So I have something to tell you that's important but I didn't say so until AFTER I was already in," then proceeded to let them know. I told them that they didn't need to know ASL and that I'm incredibly good at reading lips, and if you have a mask on, please pull it down so I can see your lips while talking to me. It's frustrating existing and being good at what you do when people don't give you a chance due to them thinking it might inconvenience them or you won't be a good worker.



Back to my jack of trades! I learned everything I could plus growing and gaining knowledge is my favorite thing to do, so no one could reject something that there's not a light on and it's quite dark and silent about those issues, outside of my 2016 fundraiser where friends in local bands came together to raise a portion of $2500, the cost of only ONE hearing aid. Local music scene really did save me at that time, so I'm so very excited to see a local movie happening here supporting this town.


I hit it off with the first 3 ladies I've met who are just wonderful people, Candice Cain, Jennifer Thompson and Amy Minter, who I fully believe with their guidance I'll learn even more with this project Baking Up Love, be on the inside of the great pumpkin movie of Morton, Illinois!


I'm excited for the opportunity, I'm excited for the people I'm going to meet, the connections I'll make and what this means for the citizens of Morton to be able to say "HEY! I was in that" "Hey! I knew someone in that" or even "Hey, that's in my town!"


Here to be Baking Up Love, so I'm very excited for this project I'm falling in love with and I hope you guys are too!



131 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page